Jump directly to the Content
Jump directly to the Content

Sermon Illustrations

Home > Sermon Illustrations

Seven More Deadly Sins

We're all probably familiar with the Roman Catholic Church's list of seven deadly sins: pride, envy, gluttony, greed, lust, wrath, and sloth. But did you know the Roman Catholic Church recently added seven more? Pope Benedict XVI was concerned about the "decreasing sense of sin" in today's world, evidenced by the declining interest in the disciplined act of confession. The list, published in the Vatican newspaper, includes what Catholic leaders feel are more modern "violations of the basic rights of human nature." The seven additional sins are:

  • Taking part in polluting the environment
  • Genetic engineering
  • Being obscenely wealthy
  • Taking or selling drugs
  • Having an abortion
  • Engaging in pedophilia
  • Causing social injustice

Bishop Gianfranco Girotti, head of the Vatican body which oversees confessions and plenary indulgences, says the move was made to help push people into deeper self-examination. "You offend God not only by stealing, blaspheming, or coveting your neighbor's wife," he says, "but also by ruining the environment, carrying out morally debatable scientific experiments, or allowing genetic manipulations which alter DNA or compromise embryos."

Related Sermon Illustrations

Former Congressman Reflects on Transgressions

In May of 2010, Indiana congressman Mark Souder resigned his position after confessing to an affair with a part-time staffer. In more than a dozen emails to WORLD magazine, Souder ...

[Read More]

The Terrible Price of Sin

In his book Finishing Strong, Steve Farrar sums up well the terrible price of sin:

"Sin will take you farther than you want to go,

Keep you longer than you want to stay,

And cost ...

[Read More]