All Reviews

Home > In Memory of Haddon Robinson > All Reviews

Skill Builder

In Memory of Haddon Robinson

I knew I would learn how to preach from Haddon, but what I didn't know is I would learn how to love.

Back to In Memory of Haddon Robinson

Rating & Reviews

Average User Rating: Not rated

Displaying 1–12 of 12 comments

Mark L. Juneau

November 08, 2017  3:35pm

Excellent.

Report Abuse

Stan Seymour

November 01, 2017  9:19am

Thanks for this wonderful tribute.

Report Abuse

Tom Lambelet

October 31, 2017  4:43pm

Haddon Robinson truly lived out his faith by doing the greatest thing! Thanks for sharing your experience. Very encouraging!

Report Abuse

Bill Smith

October 31, 2017  10:07am

Well said, Pat! "The God who speaks with utmost integrity must have messengers who represent him well." Haddon W. Robinson

Report Abuse

steve doerksen

October 30, 2017  12:49pm

Excellent tribute. Moving. We need more Haddons. And Patricias. Thanks for the inspiration.

Report Abuse

Liz Arthurs

October 30, 2017  12:05pm

Thank you for this beautiful tribute, Pat. When I texted our son to tell him that Haddon had passed away, he immediately shot back a text, and his comment (in addition to expressing his sadness) was, “He was a kind man.” Our son’s interaction with Haddon took place when our son was in elementary and middle school, and I was struck with the beauty of those words—that he remembered Haddon as being kind to him as a 9-14 year old. Haddon showed love by his kind words, actions, and demeanor.

Report Abuse

T Harvey

October 30, 2017  11:17am

Like many of his students, Haddon was my favorite preacher. He mentored me through my doctoral thesis. My favorite memory of him was during my 2nd residency. He stopped class to pray for one of my peers who was dealing with a difficult situation at his local church. Haddon's prayer was short but to the point (yes, he even used "Big Idea" in his prayers). He simply prayed, "Lord, give Bill thick skin and a soft heart." How often we are tempted to do the opposite -- develop thin skin and a hard heart. He was a great mentor. I cherish the memories that he helped me create.

Report Abuse

hsl

October 30, 2017  10:25am

What a beautiful tribute. Though I do not know Haddon's life story, I only know of him through the many who were personally touched by him and through his warm (and LOVING) voice and approach as he shared his insights on the Discover the Word radio program. I hope that some day soon, one of these people so affected by his life will write a biography so the rest of us can know his "back story" too.

Report Abuse

WILLIAM MICHAEL MORGAN

October 30, 2017  10:12am

I was privileged to speak with Haddon Robinson in the lobby outside a Gideon convention in Dallas. It was memorable when I told him I had visited Boston - He replied "Come back. We need the money."

Report Abuse

Carson

October 30, 2017  9:38am

Very helpful...very inspiring!Thank you so much.

Report Abuse

Lyle Buyer

October 30, 2017  9:17am

Pat, thank you. I am so grateful to have taken my DMin under Haddon and I appreciate the heartfelt tribute you have written. I remember the "interview" we all had to have during our second residency. I went in quite nervous, but Haddon's first concern was how I was doing and what my DMin experience was like. That very pleasantly surprised me and challenged me. We don't teach courses, we teach students! Thank you Haddon for that life lesson.

Report Abuse

Mary Lewis

October 28, 2017  9:09pm

Pat, thank you for this beautiful article. I didn't know Haddon as well as you, but I agree that he was an even greater man than he was a preacher. I don't know that I ever saw some of the things he did as flowing out of his love, but after reading your article I know that was its source. One picture I have burned in my brain was when he was speaking in chapel one morning. I was sitting across the room and looked over to see him deep in prayer. It sort of surprised me, really. I prayed fervently before I preached, but at least in part because I was terrified and inexperienced. He had done this a million times, and this was "just" a student chapel. It touched me that he knew that he needed God's help if he was going to preach to change lives -- and that was his goal. That's love -- for God & for his students.

Report Abuse

Review and Rate this Article: *

Low

High

1000 character limit

* Comments may be edited for tone and clarity.

Print this pageShopping CartHelpMy Account