All Reviews

Home > 5 Ways to Recover 'After' Your Sermon > All Reviews

Skill Builder

5 Ways to Recover 'After' Your Sermon

When the lights are off, the sermon is done, and everyone's gone home, how do you handle the lows of preaching?

Back to 5 Ways to Recover 'After' Your Sermon

Rating & Reviews

Displaying 1–12 of 12 comments

Russell Hayes

July 22, 2014  1:39pm

Very helpful article. Early in my ministry, my wife and I soon discovered this challenge. Thankfully, she helped me to create space on Sunday evenings and Monday mornings for recovery. With four kids, I needed her partnership greatly. A spouse's support is a tremendous help in post-sermon recovery!

Nick Pannone

July 22, 2014  10:20am

I breath of fresh air...an article with substance AND relevance. Thank you for these thoughtful words!

christoph

July 21, 2014  12:21pm

I have a mug with the saying: I do my best and leave the rest to God." That is a good reminder. Obviously that 30 minute talk is hard physical work. I believe one element is proper feedback. And that is not easy. I talk as someone from both sides of the pulpit. Is the Preacher spiritual and humble enough hear from Jim the truck driver that the last sermon was a flop? If it was a "flop" the preacher is the first one who knowns it, even if nobody tells him, except his/her spouse.

Jeff Gray

July 21, 2014  12:15pm

I don't take Mondays off because normally I feel down. Instead I use Mondays as a slower work day doing office administration and planning but no appointments. I have found this to be helpful for me not to allow discouragement to control my day off. I take another day off during the week, Friday.

David Ritsema

July 07, 2014  9:21pm

I have been preaching for 16 years and still struggle with this. Thanks.

Campbell Thames

July 04, 2014  7:40am

Excellent insight and advice. I have never been able to put these observations into words, but have been very aware of them. Even worse, was never sure of some positive directions to take. Thank you very much for these helpful insights. Now to work towards my own post-preaching plan.

REV LEE ECLOV

June 30, 2014  2:48pm

This was a refreshing article on a subject I've rarely seen addressed. Thank you.

E. Cummings

June 30, 2014  11:43am

Very helpful indeed because I was guilty of much what was written. Now I have an understanding and a means to enrich my life after a sermon.

Greg Hollifield

June 30, 2014  10:24am

Most helpful! I've never before seen this topic addressed.

Abram K-J

June 29, 2014  8:18pm

Great article--thanks! The idea of exercising afterwards makes so much sense, but is also hard because of potential fatigue... some good thoughts, though.

Andrea Catlett

June 29, 2014  1:58pm

These are perfect words for pastors and their families. I am so proud of you, AJ!

Stephanie S.

June 28, 2014  5:31pm

I think this was a well written, highly needed article. I wish I would have known about this before I started public speaking so I wouldn't have thought I was going crazy. Thanks AJ for your transparency and honesty.

Please to rate and review this skill builder. Or subscribe now for full access.

Print this pageShopping CartHelpMy Account