See theme

skill builder

Five Hammer Strokes for Creating Expository Sermon Outlines

Here are the fundamentals to move from a biblical text to a message structure that speaks to today's listeners.

Back to Five Hammer Strokes for Creating Expository Sermon Outlines

Rating & Reviews

Average User Rating:

Displaying 1–9 of 9 comments

Ramon De Vera

September 16, 2017  1:02pm

Thank You Dr. Arthur It helps me alot.God Bless you

Report Abuse

Michael

May 01, 2017  1:33pm

Thank you for this very helpful teaching. As I am fairly new to writing out sermons, this gives me a great starting point!

Report Abuse

PASTOR KENNETH MACARI

December 30, 2013  9:42am

I ALWAYS need to go over these basics regularly. My Doctor of Ministry seminar in 2005 at Gordon-Conwell with Haddon Robinson and Scott Gibson was tremendous!!!

Report Abuse

MATTHEW K. PITRUCHA

June 05, 2012  11:20am

Great article! I preached this way for the first 7 out of my 10 years of preaching, but what I've concluded is that it may pigeonhole your preaching. The stress can be so much on the structure that you find yourself trying to squeeze the idea, ideas in the text into a particular outline or structure. And there is not always one central idea in every text. Arthurs is a good way out of the many ways outline and structure can be done. The most important thing is the author’s intent and once you’ve got that you’ve got a sermon and Arthurs does stress intent.

Report Abuse

Scott Vermillion

May 23, 2011  11:22am

Good article. I especially liked, "Most listeners have only a foggy sense of what we are talking about as we preach." J. Arthurs is like a sharp pin to the growing balloon of pride for any who would enter preaching lightly.

Report Abuse

John Romanosky

May 18, 2011  8:28am

Expository preaching has been the pattern throughout my pulpit ministry of 40+ years. As I teach through books, all doctrines and topics will be covered over time. It will force me to address issues I might avoid but must face. The Spirit uses the Word in the hearts of the people. I alternate between the OT and NT to have balance in teaching as well.

Report Abuse

Keith Manry

May 18, 2011  7:58am

Dr. Arthurs was my mentor for my Doctor of Ministry program at Gordon-Conwell. As usual he has spoken in a concise, helpful manner. Thanks, Dr. Arthurs, for these important reminders. You continue to inspire me to increased faithfulness in the ever-relevant art of preaching.

Report Abuse

Glen Wells

May 17, 2011  2:01pm

This article defines some clear and succinct steps to help the preacher hammer out a helpful and faithful sermon.

Report Abuse

Richard Bersett

May 17, 2011  7:12am

This is an extremely helpful approach--to the craft of expository preaching. I benefited greatly from the fresh perspective and illustrative models. rich bersett

Report Abuse

Review and Rate this Article: *

Low

High

1000 character limit

* Comments may be edited for tone and clarity.

Print this pageShopping CartHelpMy Account